Waukee Girls Dominate, Olivia Swalley 3-Peat 200 IM & 100 Chest

2022 Iowa High School Girls (IGHSAU) State Championships

  • Friday 11 November – Saturday 12 November
  • Marshalltown YMCA – Marshalltown, IA
  • Complete results

The 2022 Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union (IGHSAU) State Championships were held in Marshalltown, Iowa this past weekend.

The Waukee girls decisively defended their state title, beating runner-up Dowling Catholic by 134.5 points. They won six of the eleven swimming competitions held. Last year, Waukee won the title for the first time in school history.

Top 5 teams:

  1. Waukee-402
  2. Dowling Catholic – 267.5
  3. Johnston-184
  4. Ames-156
  5. Davenport Central—123

Johnston Sr Olivia Swaley won the 200 IM for the third year in a row. With a time of 1:58.59 in the final, Swalley tore away Emma Sougstad‘s 2012 state record for tied heats (2:00.33). Swalley was almost six seconds faster than second place Mallory Kel (2:04.20).

Swalley also completed another three-peat, this time in the 100 chest rock. She touched the wall at 1:01.50, over two seconds ahead of Wakuee Willa Hage. The swim was just over Catherine Ross‘ State record of 1:01.18, set in 2012.

Nora Kemp, a junior for Waukee, was also a double event winner. She placed first in the 200 freestyle with a time of 1:48.85, which was her first time breaking a 1:50.0 in that event. She also took first place in the 100 free tight Lin-Mar Seniors Hayley Kimmel by 0.16 hundredths to hit the wall at 51.08.

Kell, a senior for Waukee, took first place in the 100 fly in a close race against Davenport Central Hannah cousins. Cousins ​​led by .20 at halftime, but Kell managed to beat them by .33 in the last 50 and won with a time of 55.71.

Swalley, Kimmel and Kell are all signed to the University of Iowa for next fall. Kemp has also announced her verbal commitment to Iowa, but is expected to arrive in 2024.

Waukee also took first place in all three seasons. Payden Rafferty (25.96), Hage (28.57), Kell (24.93) and Haiden Bailey (23.43) combined to win the 200 medley relay in 1:42.89, beating Johnston by over two seconds. Swalley had the fastest breaststroke split of the meet, going over a second faster than the rest of the field with a 27.45.

Kemp (24.42), Hage (24.11), Taylor Judas (24.12) and Athieno Wandera (4/24) then clinched the 200 freestyle relay title for Waukee in a finishing time of 1:36.69, almost two seconds ahead of Davenport Central. Lauren Valleroy from Davenport Central, Dowling Catholic’s was only just able to fend off Julia Sussmann, who anchored at 23.86. Ankenys Caroline Walker had the fastest split of the event, anchoring her sixth-place team with a 23.29.

Kemp (51.31), Kell (52.54), Judas (52.80) and Rafferty (51.01) competed together for the final 400m freestyle relay and won by nearly two seconds and a time of 3 :27.66.