Mt. Pleasant gets 5 on the all-district team

The Class 4A District 3 All-District Team was released earlier this month, and the Mt. Pleasant Football Team had five names on the list.

The Panthers had three first-teamers and two second-teamers. They also received a special award.

Mt. Pleasant’s Jcaob Richtman (pictured) threw for over 300 yards on Sept. 16, 2022, but the Panthers fell 30-20 to West Burlington-Notre Dame. (Andy Krutsinger/The Union)

Three seniors represented the Panthers on the first team. One of those seniors was quarterback Jacob Ricthman, who threw the ball around the field for 1,736 yards and 14 touchdowns this season. He added 27.5 tackles on the defensive end.

Other first teamers for the Panthers included running back Zerek Venghaus, who rushed for 340 yards and five touchdowns and also finished third on defense with 33 tackles at the linebacker position.

Mt. Pleasant’s Zerek Venghaus runs the ball against West Burlington-Notre Dame on September 16, 2022. (Andy Krutsinger/The Union)

The last guest of honor from the first team was Carter Amos. Amos caught 44 passes for 413 yards and three goals that year as a team-high. He also had 27.5 tackles on defense.

Mt. Pleasant’s Carter Amos works to shake up a defender after catching a pass against Liberty on Sept. 30, 2022. (Andy Krutsinger/The Union)


FREEDOM: QB Graham Beckman (11); DE Dantrell Skinner (11); RB/LB Trey Gregoire (12); WR/S Garrett Gregoire (12); WR/S Wyatt Williams (12); CB/WR Amari Thigpen (12); H/LB Christian Barney (12); OL Cameron Hamers (11).

NORTH SCHOTT: OL Nathan Schneckloth (12); DL AJ Petersen (12); DL David Borchers (12); QB Kyler Gerardy (11); RB Dylan Marti (12); LB Seth Madden (12); DB Adam Link (12).

FORT MADISON: OL/LB Tanning Settlements (12); DL/OL Daniel Sokolik (12); RB/LB Hayden Segoviano (11); OL/DL Isaac Thacher (11); RB/LB Teague Smith (11); Recording/DB Henry Wiseman (11).

BURLINGTON: C/DE Julian Perez-Hall (12); FB/LB Nolan Simpson (12); QB/S Gabe Robinson (11); RB/OLB Caden Schisel (11); TE/S Alex Fawcett (12).

CLINTON: QB/S Addison Binnie; RB/LB Ajai Russell; OL Ryan Rausenberger; WR/S Collin Fullick.

MT. PLEASANT: QB/S Jacob Richtman (12); RB/LB Zerek Venghaus (12); TE/LB Carter Amos (12).

The Panthers had two second-teamers in receiver/defensive back Wyatt Woodsmall and running back/linebacker Bowen Davis, both seniors. Woodsmall led the Mt. Pleasant receiver through the air for 545 yards and four touchdowns, and Davis was the team’s lead tackler with 52.

Mt. Pleasant’s honors came over Payton Walker’s sophomore. Walker holed the ball 41 times this year for a total of 1,337 yards.


FREEDOM: OL Zachary Gallagher (12); CB/QB Cody Nichols (11); WR Lucas Meyer (11); DL Mason Gardner (12); OL Carter Webb (12); LB/Y Ethan Neels (12); DL/OL becomes Quadst-Villafana (11).

NORTH SCHOTT: DB Cole Jennings (12); RC Miles Robertson (12); OL Mason Pike (12); LB Aydan Cary (12); RC Drew Kilburg (12); OL Jackson McCallister (11).

FORT MADISON: QB Aiden Boyer (12); Recording/DB Kane Williams (12); OL Mateo (12); Rec/DB Leif Boeding (11); LB Brody Cashman (10).

BURLINGTON: OL/DL John Schuelka (11); RB/DL Phil Phillips (12); FB/TE/DE Noah Nixon (12); OL/LB Trent Huffman (12).

CLINTON: RB/LB Tavian Bailey (12); WR/DB Peyton Pettengill (12); DL Ben Brown (11).

MT. PLEASANT: WR/DB Wyatt Woodsmall (12). RB/LB Bowen Davis (12).


OFFENSIVE POY: Graham Beckman, Liberty.

DEFENSIVE POY: AJ Petersen, North Scott.

OFFENSIVE LINEMAN OF THE YEAR: Julian Perez-Hall, Burlington.


FOOTBALLER OF THE YEAR: Hayden Saul, Liberty; Liam Regan, North Scott.

PUNTER OF THE YEAR: Payton Walker, Mt Pleasant.

SPECIALIST OF THE YEAR: Colton Voss, North Scott.