Iowa Senate Republicans elect committee chairs

Iowa Senate Republicans announced the list of Senate committees and committee chairs for the upcoming legislative session on Thursday.

Senate Republicans added a technology committee. They also renamed the Human Resources Committee the Health and Human Services Committee and the Labor and Business Relations Committee the Workforce Committee.

“The first Iowa Senate supermajority in 5 decades is poised to deliver results for Iowa,” Senate Majority Leader Jack Whitver, R-Grimes, said in a statement. “I look forward to working with my fellow Republican senators to help Iowans fight inflation, break down barriers to job creation, and continue to implement our historic income tax cuts.”

Republicans won seats in the midterm elections and are expected to hold a 34-16 majority in the Senate. That gives them control over decision-making in the chamber and the ability to prevent Democrats from blocking gubernatorial nominations that require a two-thirds majority to confirm.

People also read…

The chairs of the 17 committees decide which bills will be discussed in the committees before they go to the plenary vote.

The Senate will not have an Education Reform Committee, a new House Republican committee that will be added for the next session that will be chaired by Republican House Speaker Pat Grassley of New Hartford and will consider “bills significantly reforming our education system.”

The Senate Education Committee, previously chaired by Sen. Amy Sinclair of Allerton, will be chaired by Sen. Ken Rozenboom of Pella. Sinclair, who was elected President of the Senate last week, will chair the Government Oversight Committee.

The Senate’s new technology committee will deal with “information technology, telecoms, cybersecurity and other related policies,” according to the press release. LeClaire’s Sen. Chris Cournoyer will chair the meeting.

The 2023 legislative period begins on January 9th.

Senate Democrats have not yet decided who will be the senior members of the committees and will likely vote in early December, a spokesman for the caucus said.

The full list of committee chairs is below:

Agriculture: Sen. Dawn Driscoll, R-Williamsburg

Middle: Sen. Tim Kraayenbrink, R-Ft. Evade

Trade: Senator Waylon Brown, R-Osage

Education: Senator Ken Rozenboom, R-Pella

Ethics: Senator Tom Shipley, R-Nodaway

Government Oversight: Sen. Amy Sinclair, R-Allerton

Health and social services: Sen. Jeff Edler, R-State Center

Justice: Senator Brad Zaun, R-Urbandale

local government: Senator Jesse Green, R-Boone

Natural resources and environment: Sen. Annette Sweeney, R-Alden

Rules and administration: Senate Majority Leader Jack Whitver, R-Grimes.

state government: Senator Jason Schultz, R-Schleswig

Technology: Sen. Chris Cournoyer, R-LeClaire

Transport: Sen. Mike Klimesh, R-Spillville

Veterans Affairs: Senator Jeff Reichman, R-Montrose

ways and means: Sen. Dan Dawson, R-Council Bluffs

workforce: Senator Adrian Dickey, R-Packwood