Here’s How Each Iowa Legislature Voted on the Private School Financial Aid Program | Condition

The Iowa Legislature passed a sweeping private education support bill Monday night and Tuesday morning, fulfilling one of Republican Gov. Kim Reynolds’ key legislative priorities.

The bill allows parents to take $7,598 in public dollars — the state’s full allocation per student — to pay for private school tuition and associated costs. When fully implemented, it would be available to all students in public and private schools and cost $345 million annually, the non-partisan Legislative Services Agency estimates. Reynolds is expected to sign the law into law on Tuesday.

This is the third time Reynolds and Republican leaders have pushed for so-called school election legislation. Republicans in the House of Representatives couldn’t muster the votes to pass a tighter measure last year.

Twelve Republicans — nine in the House and three in the Senate — broke with the majority party to vote against the bill, and all Democrats voted no. Here’s how each representative voted.


YES – 55

MP Eddie Andrews, R-Johnston

Rep. Brooke Boden, R-Indianola

Rep. Jacob Bossman, R-Sioux City

MP Steven Bradley, R-Cascade

Rep. Ken Carlson, R-Onawa

Rep. Mark Cisneros, R-Muscatine

Representative Taylor Collins, R-Mediapolis

MP Tom Determann, R-Clinton

Rep. Dave Deyoe, R-Nevada

Rep. Zach Dieken, R-Granville

MP Jon Dunwell, R-Newton

Rep. Dean Fisher, R-Montour

Rep. Joel Fry, R-Osceola

Rep. Dan Gehlbach, R-Urbandale

MP Thomas Gerhold, R-Atkins

Rep. Cindy Golding, R-Cedar Rapids

Rep. Martin Graber, R-Fort Madison

Rep. Pat Grassley, R-New Hartford

MP Stan Gustafson, R-Winterset

Rep. Bill Gustoff, R-Des Moines

Representative Austin Harris, R-Moulton

MPs Helena Hayes, R-New Sharon

Rep. Bob Henderson, R-Sioux City

Agent Steve Holt, R-Denison

Rep. Heather Hora, R-Washington

MP Tom Jeneary, R-Le Mars

MP Craig Johnson, R-Independence

Rep. Megan Jones, R-Sioux Rapids

Agent Bobby Kaufmann, R-Wilton

Rep. Barb Kniff McCulla, R-Knoxville

Rep. Shannon Latham, R-Sheffield

Rep. Shannon Lundgren, R-Peosta

Rep. Joshua Meggers, R-Grundy Center

Rep. Ann Meyer, R-Fort Dodge

Rep. Norlin Mommsen, R-DeWitt

Rep. Carter Nordman, R-Panora

MP Anne Osmundson, R-Volga

MP Matthew Rinker, R-Burlington

Rep. Mike Sexton, R-Rockwell City

Rep. Brad Sherman, R-Williamsburg

Representative Jeff Shipley, R-Fairfield

Rep. Ray Sorensen, R-Greenfield

Rep. Luana Stoltenberg, R-Davenport

Representative Henry Stone, R-Forest City

Rep. Phil Thompson, R-Boone

MP Mark Thompson, R-Clarion

MP Charley Thomson, R-Charles City

Rep. Mike Vondran, R-Davenport

Rep. Skyler Wheeler, R hull

Rep. John Wills, R-Spirit Lake

Rep. Hanz Wilz, R-Ottumwa

Rep. Matt Windschitl, R-Missouri Valley

Rep. Devon Wood, R-New Market

Rep. Derek Wulf, R-Hudson

Agent David Young, R-Van Meter

NO – 45

Rep. Ako Abdul-Samad, D-Des Moines

Rep. Jerome Amos Jr., D-Waterloo

Rep. Austin Baeth, D-Des Moines

Rep. Sean Bagniewski, D-Des Moines

Representative Michael Bergan, R Dorchester

MP Brian Best, R-Glidden

MP Jane Bloomingdale, R-Northwood

Rep. Timi Brown-Powers, D-Waterloo

Rep. Molly Buck, D-Ankeny

Rep. Sue Cahill, D-Marshalltown

Rep. Jeff Cooling, D-Cedar Rapids

Rep. Ken Croken, D-Davenport

Rep. Tracy Ehlert, D-Cedar Rapids

MP John Forbes, D-Urbandle

Rep. Ruth Ann Gaines, D-Des Moines

MP Eric Gjerde, D-Cedar Rapids

Rep. Chad Ingels, R-Randalia

Rep. Chuck Isenhart, D-Dubuque

Rep. Dave Jacoby, D-Coralville

Here's how each Iowa legislature voted on the private school financial aid program

Reynolds signs the

Rep. Lindsay James, D-Dubuque

Rep. Kenan Richter, D-Waukee

Representative Jennifer Konfrst, D-Windsor Heights

Representative Bob Kressig, D-Davenport

Rep. Monica Kurth, D-Davenport

Rep. Elinor Levin, D-Iowa City

MP Brian Lohse, R-Bondurant

Rep. Mary Madison, D-West Des Moines

Rep. Heather Matson, D-Ankeny

Rep. Brian Meyer, D-Des Moines

Rep. Gary Mohr, R-Bettendorf

MP Thomas Moore, R-Griswold

Rep. Amy Nielsen, D-North Liberty

Rep. Rick Olson, D-Des Moines

MP Sami Scheetz, D-Cedar Rapids

Rep. JD Scholten, D-Sioux City

MP David Sieck, R-Glenwood

Rep. Brian Siegrist, R-Council Bluffs

MP Megan Srinivas, D-Des Moines

Rep Art Staed, D-Cedar Rapids

Rep. Sharon Steckman, D-Mason City

Rep. Josh Turek, D-Council Bluffs

Rep. Beth Wessel-Kroeschell, D-Ames

Rep. Ross Wilburn, D-Ames

Rep. Elizabeth Wilson, D-Marion

Rep. Adam Zabner, D-Iowa City


YES – 31

Senator Kevin Alons, R-Salix

Sen. Mike Bousselot, R-Ankeny

Senator Waylon Brown, R-Osage

Senator Mark Costello, R-Imogene

Sen. Chris Cournoyer, R-LeClaire

Sen. Dan Dawson, R-Council Bluffs

Senator Rocky De Witt, R-Lawton

Senator Adrian Dickey, R-Packwood

Sen. Dawn Driscoll, R-Williamsburg

Sen. Jeff Edler, R-State Center

Sen. Julian Garrett, R-Indianola

Senator Jesse Green, R-Harcourt

Sen. Kerry Gruenhagen, R-Walcott

Senator Dennis Guth, R Clamp

Sen. Mike Klimesh, R-Spillville

Sen. Carrie Koelker, R-Dyersville

Senator Tim Kraayenbrink, R-Fort Dodge

Senator Mark Lofgren, R-Muscatine

Senator Jeff Reichman, R-Montrose

Senator David Rowley, R-Spirit Lake

Senator Ken Rozenboom, R-Pella

Sen. Sandy Salmon, R-Janesville

Senator Jason Schultz, R-Schleswig

Sen. Amy Sinclair, R-Allerton

Sen. Annette Sweeney, R-Alden

Sen. Jeff Taylor, R-Sioux Center

Senator Scott Webster, R-Bettendorf

Sen. Cherielynn Westrich, R-Ottumwa

Senator Jack Whitver, R-Grimes

Senator Brad Zaun, R-Urbandale

Senator Dan Zumbach, R-Ryan

NO – 17

Sen. Liz Bennett, D-Cedar Rapids

Senator Nate Boulton, D-Des Moines

Senator Claire Celsi, D-West Des Moines

Sen. Molly Donahue, D-Cedar Rapids

Senator Bill Dotzler, D-Waterloo

Sen. Lynn Evans, R-Aurelia

Senator Eric Giddens, D-Cedar Falls

Sen. Pam Jochum, D-Dubuque

Sen. Izaah Knox, D-Des Moines

Senator Charlie McClintock, R-Alburnett

Sen. Janet Petersen, D-Des Moines

Sen. Herman Quirmbach, D-Ames

Senator Tom Shipley, R-Nodaway

Senator Todd Taylor, D-Cedar Rapids

Senator Sarah Trone Garriott, D-West Des Moines

Senator Zach Wahls, D-Coralville

Senator Janice Weiner, D-Iowa City

Senator Cindy Winckler, D-Davenport


Tony Bisignano, D-Des Moines